top of page

Fifty Shades of Pure Emotion


*Warning, this contains spoilers*

I want to start off by saying hoooooly shit! I’d read the reviews on the film before watching and it

honestly swayed my excitement for the latest fifty shades instalment. I was a fool for believing any of it, especially since I LOVE the books. I adored the first film and it was anguish waiting for the second.

Now, for anyone that has already seen the movie, did you catch the last scene after the end credits? HOLY COW! I can’t wait for the third film now! It’s pure torture giving us a taster a year in advance.

I’m trying to find the right words to summarise the film, but because it was such a rollercoaster of emotions, I don’t really know where to start. I am forever grateful for the scenes that included Jamie Dornan’s cute little toushie. And that scene of him working out? Hot damn! In those two hours, we watched them make up, move in together and get engaged. It’s hard to believe all that could fit in a mere two hours. We had a chance to meet Mrs Robinson, the very person who is responsible for Christians ‘singular taste’ and we also get the meet one of his past sub’s that tries to kill Anna.

So many emotions were flowing through the room. I’m not sure if the comedy is supposed to be an element in the film, but there were times when the whole cinema burst out laughing at both Christian and Anna. Christians lack of subtlety and filter was humorous on multiple occasions and Anna’s naïve and innocent characteristics brought laughter in the room. During the gunshot scene, I listened as everyone in the room gasped, hoping the bullet wasn’t aimed at Anna. I listened as all the girls cooed when Christian called Anna ‘my girl’ and a few sniffles when he asked her to marry him during his birthday. I was close to tears during the first few seconds of the film, watching a young Christian hide under a table during a childhood flashback. It’s safe to say I was an emotional wreck by the end of the film.

We had a chance to learn more about Christian’s past, finally finding out how his mother died. And it was relieving to have Christian’s (adoptive) mother finally find out what her friend, Mrs Robinson, had done to Christian at a young age. Watching Anna chuck a drink in her face was amusing, but watching Grace (his mum) slap her across the face, was satisfying. Sometimes it’s easy to forget that the main character is damaged and has a hard time to grasp natural emotions. However, it was nice to see him grow as a person as he unravels his emotions for Anna.

While Anna and Christian may have rid two of the demons in their relationship during the length of the film, another one still lingers in the shadows. And from the plane crash, it would seem Jack plays rather dirty. But I guess you can’t be rich and successful without making a few enemies. For anyone wondering, Jack is Anna’s boss, who Christian gets fired for treating her inappropriately.

One of the main beauties about this film (other than the main characters) is the soundtrack. I have had the album playing on repeat since leaving the cinema and honestly, each song is an absolute treat. There’s a mixture of soft love songs, some upbeat pop and songs that just make you want to smile all day. My favourite of all is by Joseph Angel. The song is called ‘Empty Pack of Cigarettes’. Give it a listen, you will not be disappointed!

Throughout the film, I couldn’t help but feel a little jealous. The fact that they live in Seattle- the place I would love to move to- just fuelled my jealousy. And Anna having a job in publishing was a sight that caused envy. Here’s hoping I get to make it there one day! But it was lovely seeing her get the job she had been working for since graduating in the first fifty shades instalment. You can definitely see the personal growth of both characters in this film.

Unfortunately, (for some) there weren’t many sexual scenes in the movie. However, we do get to see Anna naked in most of the intimate scenes. Unlucky for the girls, Christian was mainly dressed throughout.

I think my favourite scene of all was when Christian used Anna’s lipstick to draw a ‘map’ of the places she cannot touch. (The burn marks on his chest). But there is a touching scene where he finally allows her to, showing that he is serious about her and has definitely changed his ways. I love that Anna is a strong female character, someone who can handle the world despite her timid personality.

I honestly cannot wait for the next and final instalment and I am eagerly waiting for the trailer!

Stay lovely .x

P.s- how hilarious is it that ushers at cinema theatres keep finding cucumbers? (I’d Google the story, I found it comical).

A/N: All credit of the Fifty Shades Darker poster used in this blog post goes to owner and creator of poster.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page