top of page

5 Seconds of Summer on Tour - The Review


5 Seconds of Summer live on tour

I started writing this review the day after I saw the boys live, but procrastination is a bitch and I completely neglected the post [just like the other 5 reviews currently in my draft]. I have adored these guys since the moment One Direction announced them as their opening act. I've been wanting to see them live since 2013 and I feel like I've finally fulfilled one of my teenage dreams to see these four boys [now men] in action!

Who else remember IS IT HI OR HEY?!!! Those were the days!

My friend and I had the chance to see them in Manchester on the 26/10, and to call the beginning of the night eventful is an understatement. Enrique Iglesias was playing that night and we ended up at the wrong venue - with just £8 is change between us - we managed to get a black cab [those things aren't cheap either] to the correct location and fangirl to our hearts content.

The energy in the room was electric. Each member spoke to the crowd throughout the show - we were even lucky enough to have Ashton stage a catwalk for all the boys #Swoon. There was a mixture of hardcore and acoustic and each performance made me fall in love with them more.

Prior to the show, we weren't 100% keen on the setlist - all we wanted was the boys to play the entire new Youngblood album - but honestly, once they started playing, all our complaints flew out the windowless venue and we danced and sang along like we were 16 again. I wish I could give detailed explanations of each of the performances, but I thought it might be easier to list out my top 3!

5 seconds of summer live on tour

1. Moving Along - It's one of my favourites on the album and the fact that I got to see it live is just the cherry on top! [Since my other fave on the album didn't get performed]. It was an endless craze of flashing lights, everyone singing at the top of their lungs and energy bouncing off the walls.

2. Lie To Me - Gah, Luke on the piano is something else. One of my favourite moments in any concert is when everyone gets together and raises their phone light in the air for a slow song. It's always so beautiful. I loved that I could hear their vocals clearly and that the crowd was singing along with the same level of emotion. It was truly a beautiful performance.

3. She Looks So Perfect - Simply because I have ALWAYS wanted to hear this live. And when they started playing the opening, I literally screamed so loud!! My eardrums were ringing and my throat was sore after the performance but it was definitely worth it.

Would I see them live again?? YASSSSSSSS!! I highly recommend giving their Youngblood album a listen! You can find it on Spotify here

Stay lovely x.

A/N: All credit for the image in the banner goes to bonanaxcake on Twitter.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page