top of page

Here for Taylor [Drama]

Big Machine Records

(Big Machine Records)

I am HERE for the Taylor drama. Taylor unveiled her new music video for ‘Look What You Made Me Do’ last night at the VMA’s and there are so many hidden messages, I honestly don’t think I can get through them in one blog post. Over the years, there have been celebrity spats unveiling right before our eyes on social media. Sometimes, the best course of action is to grab a bag of popcorn and a can of beer, lean back and enjoy the drama. I can’t say I didn’t enjoy the feud between One Direction and The Wanted because I did. I loved the [ex] girlfriends getting involved and the trends that ignited worldwide. Actually, I enjoyed every little spat Tomlinson got into on Twitter, even when the spat included [Ex bandmate] Zayn Malik. Let’s not forget when Khloe Kardashian and Amber Rose went at each others throats, yet somehow it was Kim’s sex tape that was the star of the show for their feud. There’s Rob Kardashian and Rita Ora, Lady Gaga and Kelly Osbourne, Kayne West and Jimmy Kimmel to name a few.

But now, now we have been blessed with an entire music video and song full of little messages that [are] could be targeted at possible celebrities that have wronged Taylor in the past. There was the whole ruckus about Kanye taking her award, Kayne including her in a song without her knowledge of the full lyrics, Kim revealing the phone conversation between Kanye and Taylor about said song. There was the whole drama between Nicki Minaj and Taylor [I think that’s over now? Lord knows]. The ongoing feud between Swift and Katy Perry. I mean, the list is pretty much endless when it comes to Taylor. And I’m not saying that’s necessarily a bad thing, it adds some flavour to the pot.

Now, since the unveiling of the music video, I have been reading tweet after tweet, article after article about the little messages hidden in the video. Shall I start naming some that I’ve read so far?

"I don't like your little games / Don't like your tilted stage / The role you made me play / Of the fool, no, I don't like you"

Many have linked the above lyrics to Kayne west because he DID in fact perform on a tilted stage during his Saint Pablo tour.

There’s that whole scene of models at one point that is apparently directed at her ‘squad’ of model friends and how they’re like her little mannequins.

The ‘I <3 T.S’ tops that the backing dancers are wearing could be linked to when Tom Hiddleston wore a ‘I <3 T.S’ t-shirt during a very public date.

Taylor Swift- Look what you made me do

(LWYMMD Music Video)

"I've got a list of names and yours is in red underlined"

This could be linked to the last time she references a ‘list of names’ in Blank Space where she has a ‘long list of ex-lovers’. Could she be directing this whole thing towards an ex-lover? Who knows.

At the very start of the video, when zombie Taylor comes out to play [Ngl, that freaked me the fuck out], there’s a grave beside hers that says ‘Nils Sjoberg’ which was the pseudonym Swift had used for her ex’s song ‘This Is What You Came For’. Is this a dig at Calvin Harris? [Get it, dig? Grave? Urghhh, I’m lame].

There’s the scene in the bathtub, where she’s surrounded by jewels. Some have been saying it links to the interview she had with NME when she said ‘she traps them and locks them in her mansion and then she's crying in her marble bathtub surrounded by pearls.’ Whilst others are linking it to Kim Kardashian. She was held at gun point in Paris and then later tied up and put in the bath while she got robbed. If it is the latter, Swift is going to lengths to get revenge.

The list goes on. Honestly, there are so many theories. And for all we know, they could just be that. Theories. Tay has managed to get everyone talking without having said anything. her accounts are wiped clean, she’s released a song and a video and everyone is going ca-razy trying to figure it out. I can’t really put my finger on whether this is her way of starting a new chapter in her career with a clean slate, or if she really is out to get blood. I mean, I really enjoyed the end of the video. It really tied in nicely with the whole ‘reputation’ concept her album is taking.

I will openly admit that my favourite part of the song is:

"I'm sorry, the old Taylor can't come to the phone right now." / "Why?" / "Oh 'cause she's dead!"

Like, I was screaming when I first heard the song at 6:30 in the morning on Friday. I honestly cannot wait for Taylor to explain the song and to explain the music video. And I also cannot wait to see what her album has to offer. Is there more juicy snipes at any more celebrities? Any more exes? I guess we’re just going to have to wait and see.

Taylor Swift Reputation

(Taylor Swift Album Cover)

I see no harm in musicians channelling their past relationships, friendships, feuds, etc. to create a song. Music is about expression at the end of the day. And musicians should be able to express freely. While I have enjoyed reading the dissection of ‘Look What You Made Me Do’, I personally think she’s doing great using her experiences to pen songs that we [her fans] enjoy.

And for that, I wish you the best of luck with the album Tay, I cannot wait to see what it has to offer!

Stay lovely x.

You can find LWYMMD on iTunes

You can find LWYMMD on Spotify

(All credit for the photos and video used in the post goes to original owners)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page