top of page

2017: A 'Laziness Wins AGAIN' Summary


Naturally, I stayed in tune with the whole ‘laziness wins like 90% of the time’ theme since I’ve been wanting to write this blog post since Christmas Eve and I’ve only just started writing it, a week into the new year.

Habits die hard, eh.

2017 has definitely been one of those ‘life changing’ years. I started the year in London, doing a month’s internship with Rogan Productions. I got to meet some amazing people in the industry, gain some insight into a different type of media and I got to meet Ed Sheeran himself [clearly the main highlight here]. It’s hard to believe I went through a couple of days of doubt, too scared to spend an entire month alone in a city I knew fuck all about. I’m so glad I took the chance!

I somehow managed to finish both my dissertation and portfolio in UNDER A WEEK. I kept telling myself that this would be the year that I didn’t leave deadlines ‘til the last minute, but I’m a creature of habit and clearly, I never learn. Something must have gone right though, since I managed to graduate university with a 2.1. Those three years of non-stop break downs (and partying, obvs) was worth it when I saw the smile on my mama’s face. The ceremony was lovely, although the heatwave almost made me melt in my gown!

Errrrmmmmmm, I turned 21! Not a highlight since I wanted to stay 17, but hey, you can’t have everything in life. I still act like a 17 year old, so that must account for something, right? I FINALLY went to the Isle of Man to see my best friend’s hometown. I’ve never been a lover of beaches until I went there. The birthday month ended with seeing the multi-talented Shawn Mendes in my hometown. I haven’t heard a voice that good live before and I can honestly say it was one of the best experiences in my entire 21 years of existence. (However, my mind might change when I see Harry Styles live in concert in April).

Along the way, I had the honour of meeting and being in the presence of, Sir Patrick Stewart. Trust me when I say, he has that magical aura about him in person too. I somehow managed to find a job in the field I wanted to work in and the field I had focused my dissertation on. Working for High Street TV has been an incredible journey from the moment I stepped through the doors. There’s nothing better than being around people who make you feel right at home.

I also moved to Leeds. Since moving to Huddersfield, I always told myself I wanted to live in Leeds after graduation. Lo and behold, I found a house with two lovely people and I couldn’t be happier. We get along like a house on fire and we’re off on holiday this weekend!

I was back in London again in November with the RTS. I was attending as a graduate and I shit you not, it was one of the best experiences ever. It’s weird, all those dinners in the past with the RTS I had always been so nervous and on edge to network. But going as a graduate somehow managed to take that stress off my shoulders, I mingled with so many talented people in the media industry.

OMG I ALMOST FORGOT!!!!! I completed my FIRST EVER BOOK!!! It's taken me five years to write it and it needs editing so fucking badly! Let's hope I'll have a fully readable novel by the end of 2018!

That’s all I can think of for now, it’s almost 11pm and waaaaaaay past my new bedtime (yuuupppp, bed before 1am? What is happening to me!). I’ll update along the way if I remember anything!

Here's hoping 2018 holds as many adventures!

Stay lovely x.

PS. All this post proves is I have some mad photography skills!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page